Plenary Speakers

Opening Panel

Jillian Horton, MD, MA, FRCPC

Dr. Jillian Horton is an award-winning medical educator, writer, musician and podcaster. She completed a residency and a fellowship in internal medicine at the University of Toronto and has held the post of associate dean and associate chair of Internal Medicine at University of Manitoba. For sixteen years, she has cared for thousands of patients in an inner-city hospital. During that time, she had three sons and mentored hundreds of students. She now leads the development of new programs related to physician wellness and won the 2020 AFMC–Gold Humanism Award.

As a teacher of mindfulness, she is sought after by doctors at all stages of their careers. Horton completed a master’s in English at the University of Western Ontario before beginning her journey into the heart of medicine. Her first book, We Are All Perfectly Fine: A Memoir of Love, Medicine and Healing, is a national bestseller.

Esther Kim, MD

Dr. Esther Kim was born and raised in Winnipeg, MB. She completed both her Bachelor of Science and Doctor of Medicine at the University of Manitoba and is a 4rd year Diagnostic Radiology resident and Chief Radiology Resident.

Dr. Kim chose medicine because it is an ever-changing profession with innumerable chances to continuously learn and grow in many aspects. Particularly, she has pursued many leadership opportunities within and outside of the medical field, with a deep understanding and passion to improve healthcare on a broad scale.

She is honoured to be a part of the leadership session at the University of Manitoba and hopes that her experience will be inspiring to the next generation of physicians. | Twitter: @EstherKim126

Lisa Richardson, MD, FRCPC

Dr. Lisa Richardson is a mixed blood Anishinaabe physician and clinician-educator in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto. She practices General Internal Medicine at the University Health Network and is a Centre Researcher at the Wilson Centre with a scholarly focus on the integration of Indigenous and critical perspectives from the social sciences into medical education. Dr. Richardson is the Associate Dean, Inclusion and Diversity at Temerty Medicine and is the Strategic Lead in Indigenous Health for Women’s College Hospital where she founded the Centre for Wise Practices in Indigenous Health. Dr. Richardson is a powerful advocate for Indigenous health equity at both the local and the national level and her contributions have been recognized through numerous local, national, and international awards.

Aaron Chiu, MD, MBA, FRCPC (moderat0r)

Dr. Aaron Chiu is a neonatologist and currently the Associate Dean of Quality Improvement and Accreditation for the Max Rady College of Medicine, University of Manitoba. He is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pediatrics and Child Health and the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. Dr. Chiu has served as President and Chair of the Board of Directors for Doctors Manitoba. He has been actively involved with medical education and has chaired several university and national committees, including the Specialty Committee in Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine for the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

Closing Plenary

Jamiu Busari, MD, MHPE, PhD, CCPE

Dr. Jamiu Busari is a consultant Paediatrician at the Horacio Oduber Hospital, Aruba (HOH). Before 2020, he was the former Department Chair and Program Director of Pediatrics at Zuyderland Medical Center, Netherlands. His area of focus is general and adolescent pediatrics with special interests in psychosomatic disorders, eating disorders, and obesity.

Jamiu is a Maastricht University alumnus, a Harvard Macy Scholar, and an HBS executive education graduate in Managing Health Care Delivery. He is an associate professor of medical education at Maastricht University and the Dean of Health Professions Education at the HOH Academy.

Jamiu is a public speaker, writer, and clinician-educator. As a health care leader, he is a fervent advocate for diversity, social accountability, and social responsibility. His activities as a physician and educator have been recognized through various awards, including the Educational Leadership Award 2015 (World Education Congress), Clinician of the Year award 2015 (Maastricht University), the international Residency Educator Award 2016 (Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada) and the Critics’ Choice Award 2017 (Association for the study of medical education).